Breast Cancer

Understanding the Breasts

The breasts sit on the chest muscles that cover the ribs. The breast is made up of lobes and ducts. Each breast has 15 to 20 sections, called lobes, which have many smaller sections called lobules. Lobules end in dozens of tiny bulbs that can produce milk. The lobes, lobules, and bulbs are linked by thin tubes called ducts. Milk flows from the lobules through these ducts to the nipple. The nipple is in the center of a dark area of skin called the areola. Fat fills the spaces between the lobules and ducts.
Each breast also contains blood vessels and lymph vessels. The lymph vessels carry an almost colorless fluid called lymph. These vessels lead to organs called lymph nodes. In breast cancer, the cancer cells can spread outside the breast into the lymph nodes under the arm. In many cases, if the cancer has reached the lymph nodes, cancer cells may have also spread to other parts of the body via the lymphatic system or through the bloodstream.
(Click Breast Anatomy for more information.)

Types of Breast Cancer

Breast cancer can be invasive (moves into the surrounding tissue) or non-invasive (stays in the ducts or lobes). Invasive breast cancers make up 70 to 80 percent of all cases. The most common type of invasive breast cancer is infiltrating ductal carcinoma (also called invasive ductal carcinoma). This type is found in approximately 60 percent of cases.
Other types of breast cancer include:
7 Tricks to Relieve Your Enlarged Prostate

Information on Breast Cancer

Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2020 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.